Posted in 2017, Adventure, Bravery, Choices, Dedication, Dilemma, Experiences, Feelings, Graduating, Life, Work

Kim’s Journal: Post Graduation


I’m currently in the dilemma of what I want to do with my life after Uni —that’s me at the moment.

A couple of months back, I already knew what I wanted. After graduation, I want to work and pick up the pieces of my life from there. I’ve sent countless of resumes and got feedbacks along the way. It’s just a matter of choice and the formality to graduate and eventually say yes to the opportunity. Trust me, that was easy back then.

Come post graduation and I found myself delaying some opportunities and saying no to other opportunities. It’s not because it does not appeal or it does not sound great, because the impact of the career to the people around me is huge, but deep inside I still could not grasp if I’m ready for it or if I’m just being lazy about what’s to come.

I’m currently in the zone that’s neither stagnant nor moving. I’m in the limbo of this adulting-world that people used to standardize as harsh, cruel and the chances of survival depends on your stamina to do things magically!

It’s like one sunny day, I woke up not wanting to do anything but wanting to do something. Things that I can’t quite figure out. Should I read a book? Should I watch a movie? Should I send another resume? Should I laze around the house? It’s like every decision is crucial because people around me keeps on noticing my world and it sometimes irks the very core of my next step, which by the way, was planned, but last minute got abandoned and now life is not planned. It’s that moment that suddenly the planner that used to be full with activities, eventually got empty but it’s not sad, it’s just empty. Void. Blank. Waiting for some miracle from the inside to flourish the passion once more. Silently praying for the adrenaline rush of planning and acting.

But for now, being lost is fine. Seeking what I really want takes time. Seeking for what you really want takes reflecting what’s inside and even if society pressures you to decide, it shouldn’t be the standard of rash choices that you used to make when you’re a student. You should not fit yourself in the jar that people tries to place you on. You can’t fit yourself and weave to their standards of having a high paying job because you were a straight A student. You can’t weave to their standards of landing a job at a top A company because you were once “cool” during Uni days. You can’t pressure yourself to get there asap because your friends landed the stage and you don’t want to be left behind. This ain’t some race of who’s better and the ones that got left behind are branded as incompetent.

I’m currently in the “between” of what I want to do and what I want to pursue. Along the lines, I also want to enjoy the rest of the days that I deprived myself of having during my student years. Yet, one thing is true, that we all need to start somewhere. That in this reality of the world, you start again. Building your name again, growing networks again, making new friendships again, until finally, you’d find yourself slowly moving a step towards what you want.

I guess what the article said is true that, “Adulting’ is scary. But it’s not a death sentence—there’s life after those 4+ years at college.”

I’m trying to find mine at the moment. Even with the prying eyes of the hawks of society. I hope you find yours, too.

 

Valete!

In dedication to the graduates, who are confused, who are lost, who are bruised of constant rejections, constant fears, of not wanting to make do-overs. Rest if you must, but don’t rest too long. Take that step, take that leap. Behind every wrong bus we take, leads us closer to the right bus. We all start somewhere. We should start somewhere.

 

Author:

A dose of failures, a couple of heartaches, a dozen of everlasting memories, a hundred of survival diaries, a thousand of beautiful moments worth capturing all in one undying international art — writing. This feature every bits and pieces of my life (not that vain though). Whether it’s to wear a dress or wear jammies, to write a sentence or to write a poem, to challenge negative beliefs or to debate my beliefs, to momentarily travel or to stay at home, to crave spicy foods or to just eat plain vanilla ice cream. Whatever spectrum I am in, I think I have found my place in this wonderful world. Valete!

Leave a Reply

