Posted in 2016, 2017, Adventure, Bravery, Courage, Dedication, Dreams, Experiences, Feelings, Leadership, Life, Love, Strength, Truth

SSC 35th: Turnover Speech

This is probably the speech that I’ve written that caused a little bit of demand from people, which goes that I need to post it for whatever reason, but maybe because they want to go over it once more. Whatever. This speech was the last speech that I have written and delivered before I officially ended my term as the 35th President of the Supreme Student Council. So it’s kind of emotional for me when I wrote this (yes, I wrote this and I’m typing it at the moment, cliché right?)

Here goes…

(transcript of my Turnover Speech last March 27, 2017; do note that I adlib some sentences and forgot to say some sentences, but this was what I’ve written)

 

Rev. Fr. Cristopher Maspara, OAR, University President

Atty. Jesus Velez, SAO Director and our SSC Adviser

Teachers, COMELEC, SSC 35th, SSC 36th, Beloved Students, Ladies and Gentlemen, Good Afternoon!

 

Where do I start?

At the moment of getting used in making speeches, this is one of the moments that I am speechless. But where are my manners? I’d like to extend my warmest congratulations to the 36th Congress for taking up the challenge and going an extra mile of your student life as Student Council officers. Let’s give them and yourselves a thundering applause.

Remember being speechless? But I guess, being speechless has its perks because now I have an inspiration to not get speechless. I remember having a hard time making my campaign spiels that speaks of me (the serious kind) and luckily some inspiration from the heavens lead me to making one and this is the best way to wrap up that speech before.

Do you believe in love at first sight?

Or at 2nd, 3rd, 4th? You know I could go on till a million. But really, it doesn’t matter if it’s at first sight, or at 2nd, 3rd, 4th, what matters is that you believe in love despite everything that’s attached to it. Most people find it hard to love, I, being one of them before, maybe because its from experience or from other’s experience. Along the way, I told myself, who cares? Besides, when you love, it’s subjective to your standards. But let’s make this clear, because you might be thinking differently about this love that I am talking about, I’m talking about this love of service. It is like any relationship you have with your someone special, your family or your friends! Because service is someone special.

Allow me to use him or her to replace service.

When you first laid your eyes on him, you know you wanted in.

You wanted to get to know him. In your case Marco, you wanted to get to know her.

He stands out in the crowd, it’s probably the spark that he shows. The genuine compassion surrounding him that makes you think to yourself that you wanted in.

That’s what happened in our first encounter. I wanted to get to know him. I wanted to see how this goes. You see, service is very beautiful and handsome, because it makes someone beautiful and handsome as well despite the hardship that comes along with it. I got involved with him and I realize it was sweet and sometimes bitter, but mostly sweet. You’ll find yourself dedicating time in the fast pace world amidst a thousand responsibilities. You’ll find yourself sleeping late or waking up early. He does that you know! And even if sometimes he makes you angry for being stressed, he makes you do things you never know you can do. He tests your patience, your limits and sometimes how you love. Know that when you wanted in, you’ve surrendered yourself to the path of questions, uncertainties and risks. It truly is a roller coaster relationship. What did I learn from that relationship?

How to adjust and do less reacting, if we react more and adjust less, then things would remain unresolved.

Encourage, yourself and others along the way.

Accept faults, mistakes and criticisms.

Ride, as what Clofer used to tell me is to go with the flow and let loose sometimes.

Test answers and solutions to problems.

What did I learn from that relationship? I learned how to have a H-E-A-R-T filled with love.

Service and I have never broken up till now, but amidst the learning do let me tell you this, that loving does not mean messianic tendencies. Do cross oceans, but when you can’t do it, do cross seas first! The presidency is not technical. Maybe the technical part is reading memos, resolutions and signing papers. The presidency is a test of emotions. You will become the earphones, the stereo, the shock absorbers of problems, but don’t let it stop you. It’s kind of an emotional job but don’t do emotional transference, I learned this from my psychology friends, it will drain you. Be emotionally stable because you will become the pillar of support, the foundation.

There’s no perfect definition or standard on what it is about but know that it would be one of your best relationship!

To the 36th congress, know that love is always accompanied with pain. If it is not painful, then it is not love at all. You’d never feel that you’ve given your best. Know that in every pain, there’s a lesson you learn so it’s worth the pain after all. I say this to my 35th, I’ll say this to you, late gratification works like this: you’re doing your best but people don’t seem to mind or to care, don’t stop. What we’re doing is unconditional and the investment may not get returned, but that’s how service works. The best example of service is no other than Jesus when he dies on the cross for us without asking anything in return. That is true love. Be in love with your passion. It’s not enough to like it. If you only like it, surely it’s just like an on and off relationship. But if you love service, you will have every reason to stay.

To my 35th kids, most of us came in as tabula rasa. A blank canvass but I’m so proud of your growth! I’ve heard that when the term ends, yehey na! No. You’ll always be an SSC Officer, you’ll always be a leader, live it up. People are going to look up to you. So continue to be one, if you see pieces of trashes in the lobby, pick it up! If you see students counter flowing, correct them. Thank you for loving service. When I want to quit, when I lose the passion, and when the going gets tough, I just look at you guys and then I am reminded how I learned to love and I will continue to love service even more. You are the reason why I stayed. If you ever ran out of people to talk to 24/7, know that I am here.

Continue to move mountains of your dreams and extend possibilities of your passions!

Once again, good afternoon!

 

Valete!

 

In dedication to the past, you have been bruised and scarred for taking risky and life-changing decisions yet you still continue to love until it hurts, till it hurts no more. Thank you for existing, the present has become stronger, braver and bolder because of you. 

Author:

A dose of failures, a couple of heartaches, a dozen of everlasting memories, a hundred of survival diaries, a thousand of beautiful moments worth capturing all in one undying international art — writing. This feature every bits and pieces of my life (not that vain though). Whether it’s to wear a dress or wear jammies, to write a sentence or to write a poem, to challenge negative beliefs or to debate my beliefs, to momentarily travel or to stay at home, to crave spicy foods or to just eat plain vanilla ice cream. Whatever spectrum I am in, I think I have found my place in this wonderful world. Valete!

Leave a Reply

